Penshaw circular walk
This is a 4 mile (6.5km) walk starting from the foot of Penshaw Monument.
The route offers great views of Penshaw Monument and the surrounding countryside as well as covering a number of interesting historical features and locations, including:
Penshaw Monument was built in honour of John Lambton, the 1st Earl of Durham. It's foundation stone was laid on 28 August 1844. The monument is based on the design of the Theseion, the Temple of Hephaestus in Athens. It was built using £6,000 raised by public subscription and is one of Wearside's most iconic landmarks.
This bridge is one of the most impressive stone viaducts in Britain. Named after Queen Victoria, the final stone of this bridge was laid on her Coronation Day, 28 June 1838. It is said that its design was inspired by a 2nd century Roman bridge in Spain. The viaduct was built to carry rail traffic over the Wear and was the main rail line between Newcastle to London until 1872. It closed in 1991.
Close to the river bank near the footbridge at Cox Green lies the site of Alice Well. Until the Second World War this was the source of the local community's water supply. It was bricked up until the 1980s when it was reopened due to popular demand.
The heavily wooded, picturesque riverside setting of Coxgreen belies its industrial past. In the 19th century this area was a hive of activity as a result of the coal trade, local ship building and quarrying industries. Coal was carried by wagons down to the river to keel
boats which would then transport the coal on to awaiting ships close to the mouth of the river.
This disused railway line forms part of the old Penshaw railway which was established in 1852 to carry freight to Hendon. In 1853 it began operating a passenger service into Sunderland town centre. The line is now a popular route used by cyclists and joggers. It
eventually leads to South Hylton and the Tyne and Wear Metro line.
Site of Penshaw Quarry owned by the Marquis of Londonderry, this is now an attractive broadleaf woodland.